OpenClaw is free software that can do real work for you: it reads and writes files, browses the web, runs jobs on a schedule and takes requests from WhatsApp, Slack or Microsoft Teams. For a small business it is worth running yourself only if one named person, comfortable with software, owns its updates and what it can reach.
A disclosure first. We sell a done-for-you agent service built on Hermes Agent, which competes with OpenClaw, and our own agents do not run on OpenClaw. So this review rests on OpenClaw's own documents, its public release and security record, and six dated reviews by people who did run it. Everything about the software was read on November 2, 2026.
Scores are out of 5. They are our judgment from that record, not a test we ran.
| What your business needs from it | Score | What the record shows |
|---|---|---|
| Doing real work, not just chatting | 5 | Files, web browsing, scheduled jobs, and requests from the chat apps your team uses |
| Price of the software | 5 | Free under the MIT license |
| Getting started without technical staff | 3 | Desktop apps and a guided setup since late August; earlier reviewers struggled |
| Keeping it updated | 2 | Nine regular updates from October 3 to November 1, plus test versions |
| Safety out of the box | 2 | Built for one trusted person; locking it down is your job |
| Sharing it across a team | 3 | Team roles arrived in late August, meant for people who already trust each other |
| Help when something breaks | 2 | Its own help page suggests asking an AI assistant to read OpenClaw's code |
Is OpenClaw worth it for a small business?
Yes, if someone on your side will own it. The software costs nothing, and it can take real errands off your plate. What it asks for is a person who applies updates every week and decides what the agent may touch. When an update breaks something, that same person has to sort it out. Without them, pay someone to run it or wait.
That person does not need to be an engineer for daily use. They do need to be at ease with release notes and backups, and able to follow setup instructions without someone over their shoulder. If your business has nobody like that, the weekly job lands on you.
What does OpenClaw do well?
OpenClaw takes actions for you instead of only answering questions. Its home page calls it "The AI that really does things," and the documentation backs that up: it connects to WhatsApp, Telegram, Slack, Microsoft Teams, iMessage, Signal and more, and it can run jobs on a schedule or start one when a new Gmail message arrives.
For an owner, these are the useful parts:
- You can message it from the app you already use, so it feels like a coworker rather than another website to open.
- It keeps notes across conversations, so it remembers your preferences instead of starting cold every time.
- Its automations let it do the same chore every morning without being asked.
Even coverage that worried about its safety saw the upside. A February PCMag article called the chat-app connection "a big differentiator from ChatGPT, Gemini, and other chatbots." If you are weighing it against a plain chat tool, what separates an AI agent from a chatbot explains which one fits which job.
What do people who ran OpenClaw say?
Most hands-on reviewers liked what it could do and doubted it was ready for everyday use. Of the six reviews below, one is clearly positive, one is clearly negative, and four land in between, usually because of setup effort, upkeep or behavior the reviewer did not ask for. All six were written before OpenClaw's big late-August update.
| Reviewer | Published | Time using it | Verdict in their words |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wyndo, The AI Maker | Feb 5, 2026 | 10 days | "The UX is going to catch up to the capability." |
| Create With | Feb 10, 2026 | 2 weeks | "the value has been fairly limited, mostly because of how much tinkering it takes" |
| Luca Rossi, Refactoring | Feb 11, 2026 | 2 weeks | "for the most part, everything just works" |
| Will Knight, WIRED | Feb 11, 2026 | Not stated | "I wouldn't recommend it to most people, though." |
| Chip Hanna, WeTried.it | Feb 24, 2026 (updated Jun 30) | Months | "6.5/10 today with a 9.9/10 potential ceiling" |
| Ruben Circelli, PCMag | Apr 14, 2026 | Not stated | "I struggled to find a reason to keep using it at all." |
Two complaints stand out. The first is setup. PCMag's review opens its list of problems with "The first hurdle with OpenClaw is its complex setup." The second is the agent doing things nobody asked for. At Create With, one agent "randomly deleted another agent and then renamed itself," and stopped working after that. At WIRED, the agent kept going back to an online checkout with the same item even though the writer "repeatedly told it not to do that."
Read the dates before you lean on these reviews. OpenClaw changes fast, and the setup complaints in particular describe the software as it was in the spring.
What changed in OpenClaw's late-August update?
Setup got easier and teams got basic controls, but you still host it. The late-August release, version 2026.8.1, which some reviewers nicknamed OpenClaw 2.0, added a guided first-run setup, named roles for team members, and a way to approve a recurring job once. OpenClaw now also offers desktop apps for Mac, Windows and Linux.
The release notes for 2026.8.1 list the parts an owner would care about:
- A guided setup that walks a first-time user through the choices with option cards.
- Team roles that limit which agents and conversations each person can see. OpenClaw's own notes describe these as "collaboration controls, not hostile-tenant isolation," meaning they suit people who already trust each other and are not a wall between strangers.
- Approval for recurring work: you grant a scheduled job permission for one exact task, and it must ask again if the task changes.
- A masked prompt for passwords, so the agent can ask for a login without the password showing up in the chat.
Its home page now offers desktop apps that it says "install everything for you." OpenClaw's setup FAQ puts the install itself at 2 to 5 minutes, with longer for connecting your AI model and chat apps.
What did not change is who runs it. Even the team features run on a copy of OpenClaw that you, or someone you pay, keeps on a computer that stays on.
What does it take to keep OpenClaw running?
It takes a standing weekly job. From October 3 to November 1, 2026, OpenClaw published nine regular updates, five more for an older version it keeps supporting, and eleven test versions, by our count of its public release list. Someone has to read what changed and apply each update you need.
Most updates are routine, but not all of them. The notes for the late-August release open with this advice: "Back up your configuration and state before making changes." They add that if the automatic update fails, you should use an AI coding tool to help finish it and check that OpenClaw starts again. That is honest advice, and it assumes whoever updates OpenClaw is comfortable repairing software.
Help works the same way. When the documentation does not answer a question, OpenClaw's setup FAQ suggests downloading its full code and asking your bot, or another AI assistant, to read it and answer. That works well for a developer. For a busy owner, it means the first line of help is an AI reading code.
We know this job from the inside, because our own company runs on Hermes Agent and it has the same weekly upkeep. Our Hermes Agent review describes what that work looks like after months of doing it.
Is OpenClaw safe enough for business use?
It can be, once you set it up for business on purpose. OpenClaw's own trust boundary page says: "Out of the box, OpenClaw is a personal assistant for one trusted operator." Out of the box, it also runs commands on its own computer without asking first. Business use, in the project's words, "requires explicit configuration."
Its security trust model adds a point owners often miss: everyone who can message a working agent shares that agent's authority. A group chat that includes a contractor or a client is a group that can give your agent orders.
The project fixes problems in the open. By our count of its security notices, it published 722 between January 31 and September 11, 2026, 14 of them rated critical and 249 rated high, and none since. Each fix protects only the copies that installed it. Our OpenClaw security guide covers the eight questions to settle before the agent gets a real login.
What does OpenClaw cost to run?
The software is free under the MIT license. What you pay for is a computer that stays on, the AI model that does the thinking, and the hours someone spends keeping it current.
- The computer: OpenClaw's hosting FAQ says a small rented server, a Mac mini or even a Raspberry Pi will do. Chip Hanna at WeTried.it spent about $1,500 on a Mac mini for it. Wyndo at The AI Maker priced a small rented server in Europe at around €5 to €7 a month.
- The AI model: you can pay a model company as you go, or sign in with a ChatGPT subscription, which the FAQ says is "fully supported."
- The time: updates, access decisions and fixes, every week.
If you would rather pay someone to keep it running, OpenClaw hosting lists the companies that do it and their published prices. The money side of a self-run agent, with a worksheet for the hours, is laid out in what Hermes Agent costs to run, and the same lines apply to OpenClaw.
Who should run OpenClaw, and who should not?
Run it yourself when the work is personal and the person running it enjoys the upkeep. Hand it off, or pick something else, when the work is shared, touches customers, or nobody on staff can own it.
| Your situation | Our call | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You want help with your own inbox and calendar, and you like tinkering | Try it | One trusted person is the setup it is built for |
| Someone on staff is comfortable with software and can give it time every week | Workable | Make that person the owner of updates and access |
| You want it on a shared job, like customer follow-ups, and nobody on staff is technical | Not on your own | Updates and access need an owner; pay a host or have it built |
| It would touch client records, payments or anything regulated | Wait | Settle the questions in our security guide first |
If OpenClaw is not the right fit, OpenClaw alternatives sorts eight options by the reason people leave. If you are choosing between the two best-known free agents, Hermes Agent vs OpenClaw sets them side by side.
Frequently asked questions
Is OpenClaw good?
It is capable. Reviewers who ran it praise what it can do from a chat app and complain about setup, upkeep and surprises. For a small business, good depends on whether someone can own it every week.
Is OpenClaw legit?
Yes. It is a real open-source project under the MIT license, starred by about 393,700 people on GitHub as of November 2, 2026, and it publishes its security fixes in the open. Legit is not the same as safe by default, though; read its own trust boundary page before you connect anything important.
Is OpenClaw free?
The software is free. Running it is not: you pay for a computer that stays on, for the AI model, and for the time someone spends on updates and fixes.
Is OpenClaw better than ChatGPT?
They answer different needs. OpenClaw is software you run yourself that acts in your accounts from the chat apps you already use, and it can even use a ChatGPT subscription for its thinking. ChatGPT is OpenAI's own app, running on OpenAI's computers. An AI agent vs a chatbot explains which suits which job.
Does VantaSoft use OpenClaw?
No. Our own team of agents runs on Hermes Agent, a competing free project, and we build agents for clients on it. That is why this review leans on OpenClaw's documents and on other people's experience rather than our own.
If you want the agent without the upkeep
We build an agent around one job in your business, connect it to the tools you already use and keep it updated, so nobody on your team has to own the weekly upkeep. The build starts at $1,000 one time, and hosting and maintenance start at $200 a month. Bring the job you would hand over first and start a conversation with us.




